My Make-up Box

The last time I de-cluttered (again), I threw out almost 90% of my make-up products. All expired and barely used. What a waste.

I use make-up only when there is an occasion. Also, I am lazy to do it on a daily basis when I don’t really need to. Nevertheless, I felt necessary to own every eye shadow and lipstick and blusher shade – just in case. How silly. Everything expired before I even had a chance to apply it. I mean, how many special occasions are there in a year?

When I replenished my make-up collection I decided minimalism is the way to go. I like the nude and subtle look because I believe in applying make-up to enhance your features, not paint them. So, neutral earth colours it is.

This is a list of my entire make up collection and they do the job for me wonderfully:

  1. Elianto BB Cream, natural shade number 02.
  2. Maybelline Mineral power foundation powder.
  3. Cover Girl TruConceal concealer.
  4. Lo’real Infallible eyeliner in black. A thin line for a simple day look and smudged lines for a smokey evening look, with or without eyeshadow. Doubles up as an eyebrow pencil for me too – dabbing it along my brows and smudging it using the built-in smudger to blend into and shape my natural browline.
  5. Maybelline Expert Wear eyeshadow in Natural Smokes. Can be either applied lightly in the day or used to build colours for a smokey eye finish in the evening.
  6. Maybelline Falsies VolumExpress waterproof mascara. Because I have short and droopy eyelashes.
  7. Sally Hansen lip gloss, one in nude and one in peach/pink.
  8. Thin Lizzy 6 in 1 Professional Powder in Light as my blusher. When travelling, this is my blusher, eyeshadow and face sculptor/bronzer all in one. Love it.

When I bought my Thin Lizzy, it came as a set with a brown and black eye pencil and a clear lip gloss. Otherwise, I only have one of each essential makeup product. My makeup box is well equipped to create a few different looks for me. It is complete and minimalist. I am happy.

How many make-up products do you have and actually use?

10 comments on “My Make-up Box

  1. psharma3 says:

    I seriously only use eyeliner. I have a 99cent NYC brand from CVS eyeliner and despite having tried more expensive ones, its still my favorite, mostly because I can smudge it around. Also I have a eyeshadow variety kit with 6 colors Milani 05, also from CVS. I only use three of the colors ever. I have also tried “better” ones to no satisfaction. And that leaves me with 2-3 tubes of mascara that I never use, department store eye shadon that I never use. 3 containers of foundation barely used. My bigger issues are with body sprays and perfumes. I worked at Bath and Body works for a while and I’ve accumulated more fragrance that I will ever use.

    • Tien says:

      That’s very true, sometimes the bargain items are much better than pricey ones. Oh dear…..have you checked the expiry dates of some unused products? I used to be like you and before I know it, everything was past the 24 month shelf life before I could really use it. Expired makeup are very bad, take care! I prefer body lotions to perfumes. One bottle of perfume could last me years!

  2. Claire says:

    I’ll admit. I only put make up on WHEN necessary because I’m too darn lazy. Plus, removing make up can be quite tiring, esp if you’ve had a long day. But yes, like you, I hoard make up too. BUT I get all of mine free ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s of the list of items I use on a regular basis.

    1. Shu Uemura UV underbase mousse
    2. Guerlain pressed powder and blush
    3. Anna Sui Eyebrow Color Compact/Kate Eye Brow Pencil (BR-5)
    4. Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil (Black and Brown)/Shu Uemura Drawing Pencil (Pink)
    5. Elite Slim Mascara (OMG this is incredible. It makes my lashes look miles longer!)
    6. Mentholatum Mogitate Lip Balm (strawberry flavored)
    7. Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited/ Shiseido/Clarins (08)/ Chanel Rouge Coco Shine (Monte Carlo).

    p/s: I use all of these alternatively and not all at one go ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Tien says:

      Oh lucky you working for a women’s magazine! For others less lucky ones, like me….Maybelline it is! Anyway, you got most of it for free so it justifies hoarding hehe. Thanks for sharing Claire.

      • Claire says:

        That’s true, Tien. I wouldn’t be splurging out on stuff like these especially when I don’t use it on a daily basis! Actually, I’ve gotten so many items that I’ve been giving them away ๐Ÿ˜› too bad you live all the way in NZ hahaha

  3. I have a big box but i only use some of it every day so I need to declutter mine too ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. D... says:

    Tien, I hang my head down low, my stash is too big, and I need to downsize, but it’s hard for me to part with them. Until they go bad, and that’s an even sadder day.

    • Tien says:

      Danielle, I totally understand how you feel!! But you got to be brutal…..and save a few pennies on the way ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • D... says:

        Actually I am not buying anything, just refills of moisturizer and the basics. I haven’t for about a year. But when I know I’ve spent to so much It’s hard to dispose of them. Actually some are untouched and they don’t go bad and are still usable. I am going through the stash bit by bit.

Leave a Reply

