Gadgets

I am not a gadgets person. My Sony Ericsson W300i has kept me happy since 2006. Its sleek, it has a nice colour screen and very good audio quality.

It never occurred to me to buy a smart phone or even a touch screen phone although everyone around me is carrying one. Most of them are even well into their 3rd or 4th smartphones. I never felt I needed one.

When Terry signed up for a mobile calling plan and got a free iPhone 4s, he let me use it. He wanted the minutes not the smart phone he said. I was a little sceptical. For one, it was much bigger than my Sony and well, I was very out of touch with hi-tech gadgets like the iPhone!

It took me some time to get used to using a touch screen and the idea of “applications” and being connected to the internet 24-7. I can’t believe I am saying this but I find the iPhone 4s very handy indeed! Definitely not just a pretty little toy.

Oh how I love my iPhone 4s, let me count the ways:

  1. Facebook. Need I say more?
  2. I like using the iPhone to create my digital shopping list every week. I can even tick off items as I shop. I used to scribble on random pieces of paper which ended up everywhere. Now I can save some trees too (ahem!).
  3. I ride the bus everyday. With the Maxx app, I can check the bus arrival board of my stop live from home and plan to start walking accordingly. No more watching helplessly as my bus drives away right in front of my eyes across the street. Not a good way to start the day I tell you.
  4. The iPhone 4s is built with an 8 megapixel camera which is comparable to, if not better than many digital cameras. Coupled with the WordPress app, I can take pictures and upload it into a draft post straightaway. No cables, no transferring from camera to laptop, no excuses for not blogging!
  5. Have you heard of the Genius Scan app? It lets you take pictures of documents with the iPhone camera and convert them into PDF files. And you can email them immediately too. How handy is that?
  6. I keep a daily food and exercise journal on MyFitnessPal.com. Its iPhone app enables me to keep track of calories throughout the day as I eat! It works, I have been shedding pounds steadily. But that’s another story for another day.

The only downside is the relatively short battery life. With my usage, I have to recharge my iPhone battery pretty much every night. I guess I can’t complain since its performing so many tasks at once.

I’m really impressed with the iPhone 4s and I’m glad I finally get to use one. I’m outdated, I know. I’m still not a gadgets person. I wouldn’t care less if the iPhone 5 comes out tomorrow, I’m sticking with the 4s until it decides to die on me.

19 comments on “Gadgets

  1. cbrohan says:

    Iphones and Smart Phones have made blogging so much easier than before, especially with apps like wordpress you can post a blog at least once a day (although i try not to do this if i can avoid it)

    Glad to see someone else has realised their potential.
    Also enjoyed your blog, might try some of your recipes!

    Thanks,
    Ciaran
    http://cbrohanmultimedia.wordpress.com/

    • Tien says:

      Ciaran, thank you for dropping by to comment. I still find actually blogging a little challenging on iPhones, a smaller touch screen and keyboard and all…..but it has definitely make taking pictures and uploading to a post so much more convenient! And good luck with the recipes! šŸ™‚

  2. psharma3 says:

    I am so with you. I never needed or wanted a smartphone. But I just got one and its rather useful. Most important for me is being able to check my emails whenever I need to. I just need to get used to not carry around my computer everywhere I go now. šŸ˜€

  3. […] Gadgets (tienunscripted.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Meagan says:

    Will try out Genius Scan! Thanks for the recommendation! šŸ™‚

  5. nadia says:

    Yay, welcome to the iPhone club šŸ™‚

  6. rossie says:

    thanks for the info tien!! should i ask for a birthday pressie from him? hehehe

    • Tien says:

      Yes Rossie, show him this post if necessary..lol!

      • rossie says:

        digi has an okay plan for iphone 4s.. $2090 +monthly bill of $55 including free call, mms, data 1gb data package, sms.. don;t know how much it cost over there to have iphone+postpay plan..

        • Tien says:

          Rossie! You mean you still have to pay RM2090 for the iPhone? If its free then its okay, otherwise its so-so. Vodafone NZ offer free iPhone 4s when Tery signed up for NZD100 monthly plan.

  7. Claire says:

    Oh how apt. We got our iPhones around the same time! šŸ™‚ But yeah I tried blogging with my iPod Touch and it was just not the same – esp when I loaded pix. The alignment was completely off (I had portrait and landscape images). But yay we should iMessage and FaceTime soon! šŸ™‚

  8. D... says:

    I’ve got an iTouch and I love it. I have been thinking about getting a tablet, but haven’t found one that I really want. I do enjoy a good gadget myself.

    • Tien says:

      Oh we got a Samsung tablet at home too. Nothing special really, just easier to carry around the house compared to a laptop. And the battery life amazed me….it can go for a week or so without being switched off.

Leave a Reply

