Backyard Project 2011

I’m at it again.    🙂

These are my delightful 3-week old babies which I carefully nurtured with lots of tender loving care. It’s a wonder what water and sunlight can do.

Long beans

Corn

Only 2 and a half of the 6 cucumber seeds I sowed made it.....

Red chillies

Extra hot bird-eye chillies (cili padi) - these are bought from the market

Last but not least, my absolute winner for the 3rd year running……..my strawberry plants and its many babies which survived the winter cold! I reorganised the baby plants into bigger pots and incorporated as many as I could into the main pot.

Please ignore the abundance of weeds all around

But hey, the weed is pretty too!

Proof that shows the strawberry plants are doing well

More proof (",)

Over the next few weeks, I will be gradually transferring the baby vege in pots onto our new patch which Terry painstakingly dug and filled with proper potting mix. To the left will be our little corn field and in the box would be rows of beans, chillies, cucumber and possibly potatoes and more greens at a later stage.

Looking forward to a delightful harvest in a few months time!

15 comments on “Backyard Project 2011

  1. Meagan says:

    Nice and healthy hobby, Tien.. Can’t really do that in this hot weather Malaysia. Or you can, but i’m just plain lazy. :p

    • Tien says:

      Thanks Meagan! I know what you mean. I don’t sweat even though I do few hours of gardening at a time here. Can’t say the same for gardening in Malaysian weather 😉

  2. This is awesome! I really want to take up gardening, and your success is a little extra encouragement to do so. 🙂

  3. nadia says:

    I am so jealous of your garden, Tien! I wish I lived in a colder and plant-friendly place. You’re doing a great job with your babies.

  4. Khanum says:

    This is so great, Tien. I am not into gardening but I agree with Nadia, its stirring the feeling of jealousy man! 😦

  5. D... says:

    Oh I love it Tien. We are totally on the same page. I need to get a camera to document my babies too. Ugh…I’ve been putting it off. I may do it this weekend.

  6. Claire says:

    I am jealous too! I live in a condo and the balcony is all the space I have 😦 I really do wish I had the space (and weather) for stuff like that!

  7. Julia (AKA Jules) says:

    what a great hobby! I idolise anyone who can perfectly grow my fave fruit, the humble Strawberry…
    Jules

Leave a Reply

