Birthday

08/10/2011

On 29 September, I turned……..um, well just say it was the last of the 20s for me if you know what I mean   😉

It was just like any normal weekday but I was a little more cheerful knowing it was my special day. Greeted by the many birthday messages on Facebook, it made me smile more.

I remembered when I turned 9, my parents threw me a birthday party in a fast food restaurant and invited many of my school friends. There were games, fried food, soft drinks, games, a cake and many presents. As I grew older my birthdays become more and more quiet and some years I don’t even get a cake.

This year Terry asked if I would like a cake and I said sure, but not on my actual birthday because it’s no fun eating a cake by myself!

We haven’t invited anyone over for dinner properly since we moved into the new place so I thought, let’s invite some friends over for a simple birthday cum housewarming get-together. I whipped up a simple meal for 10 people including ourselves.

I enjoyed every part of it – the cooking and preparing, the company and food and of course my cake! You gotta love cake. Although I had to go through the awkward birthday song before devouring the cake, it was still worth it. I have always felt the weirdest part of a birthday celebration is the song singing part, where everybody sings while you stand there….waiting for them to finish! Do you ever feel that way?

Anyway, it was a lovely evening. It wasn’t so much of my birthday and gifts, but really the warm and fuzzy feeling when you know you have friends around you. To me, that is the best birthday gift ever   🙂

25 comments on “Birthday

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Happy Belated birthday!! Having friends around is what makes it all worth hanging on through the terrible awkward singing!! And boy–that song is long, isn’t it, when there is cake just waiting to be devoured!!!!

  2. D... says:

    Happy Birthday Tien!!! Your adventures are just beginning.

    There’s only one boy in your picture. Poor thing is outnumbered. 😦

  3. Happy birthday, Tien! Family and friends are always the best part of the celebration – I’m happy to hear you had a nice time. 😀

  4. nadia says:

    Happy Birthday, Tien! Yes, the birthday song is definitely awkward, but it’s just once a year so it’s ok 🙂

    • Tien says:

      Thank you Nadia! You are right, and I get my revenge by singing slower and louder at other people’s birthdays and then they will do the same. It’s a vicious cycle hahaha!

  5. […] // #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#splittitlebox {text-align: center;}#singletitlebox {text-align: center;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Happy Birthday, Daddy!Birthday […]

  6. Nicole says:

    Awww, happy birthday!! 🙂

  7. Khanum says:

    Let me say ‘Happy Birthday again’
    Glad u turned …..something something 😛 I won’t mention the figure don’t worry.

  8. Claire says:

    That looks like a fun party, Tien! Happy birthday again!!! It’ll be an even bigger milestone for us all next year…

  9. scrambled7 says:

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!

  10. kimberlycun says:

    happy birthday tien! best wishes 🙂

  11. 女王 says:

    I always happy with friends around. I bet you feel the same too. Miss you dear!

  12. shinloo says:

    I’m so sorry I didn’t have time for facebook these days I didn’t notice. Happy belated birthday, Tien. 🙂

Leave a Reply

