Rain On Me

As I was finishing my coffee, it started to rain. I decided to wait a little while until it stops before I go out the door to catch the bus to university.

After a good 10 minutes, it looked like it’s not going to stop anytime soon. So I put on my shoes and made my way to the bus stop. Without my umbrella. It broke weeks ago and I have yet to buy a new one. I shouldn’t have procrastinated. Ahh well.

Instead of the usual 800-meter and otherwise pleasant walk to the bus stop, I decided to take a detour to cut the distance in half. I made my way to another closer bus stop so that I didn’t have to stay in the rain so much. I’ll have to pay slightly more in bus fare but I’ve expected to do that on rainy days.

By the time I reached the bus stop, my toes were soaked in cold water, my jacket smeared with rain and my face numb from braving the cold wind. What a way to start the week.

The only consolation was the bus came in less than 2 minutes. Just as I was getting settled on the bus, it stopped raining. Not only that, it was very sunny. “Perfect” timing.

As the bus approached my stop, it started raining again! It’s like it was waiting to rain on me.

Anyhow, I thought I should really get that umbrella now. So I walked towards a shop in the university. In the rain.

After paying the cashier, I walked out the shop with my new umbrella to a bright and sunny day. Just to rub it in one last time.

Happy Monday to everyone else!

17 comments on “Rain On Me

  1. Zaidah says:

    Don’t bother with an umbrella in Auckland. I recommend that you invest in one very good [read: waterproof AND FASHIONABLE] jacket.

  2. Tien says:

    I know what you mean Zaidah, I have broken at least 4 umbrellas so far! So I thought I should invest in a really good one this time – windproof! But the jacket idea isn’t too bad. Time for shopping? Tee hee. Thanks for dropping by to comment Zaidah!

  3. […] Rain On Me (tienunscripted.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Yes I think an umbrella would be a good purchase! I have to have one over here, it’s always suddenly raining then stopping 🙂

  5. Claire says:

    Does it rain that sporadically? But yeah, make life easier, get a good waterproof jacket and a nice pair of boots/wellies so at least you won’t get THAT wet 🙂

  6. nadia says:

    I know it’s incredibly wrong to laugh, but this is so funny!

  7. Sendie-Lou says:

    Assuming the weather are pretty similar between Australia and New Zealand, I won’t bother too much with umbrella, maybe a good rain coat instead. I broke at least 1 umbrella a week during my 1st year in Sydney before I learn my lesson. It really doesn’t matter the type of umbrella the cheap one of the expensive one, I try them all! 🙂
    That was funny though… I hope you didn’t catch a cold.

    • Tien says:

      It is indeed very similar Sendie. Yes, sometimes its not so much the rain, but the crazy wind! Which broke at least 4 of my umbrellas which I bought at 2 dollar shops. This time I bought a golf umbrella, windproof! FIngers crossed this will work. Cheers Sendie!

  8. D... says:

    Oh how miserable. I’ve had those days before. It’s like someone is trying to screw with you.

  9. I always forget my unmrella! I do keep a hat tucked into my purse usually. Gotta protest the ‘do!

  10. Khanum says:

    Tien, how did I miss this post.
    The rain really made u a victim. As Nadia says, it’s incredibly wrong to laugh but I kannot hold it in. Here I go.
    hahahahhahahahahhahahahahaha 😛 what a day!

Leave a Reply

