Rugby World Cup 2011

Tonight will be a big night for New Zealand. The Rugby World Cup 2011 (RWC) is opening tonight in Auckland! All eyes on New Zealand.

The Eden Park Stadium is just a mere 10 minutes drive from my new place. But of course, there would be road closures and 10 minutes drive means 30  minutes walk today. Am I going? I didn’t get the tickets and I am not a sports person anyway.

But I can’t help catching a slight RWC fever myself. Passing in front of Eden Park daily seeing all the signboards, flags, rugby fans occasionally (and suddenly) screaming their country names on the streets….yeah pretty hard to miss!

The new Eden Park Stadium in my neighbourhood

Today I’ll leave early to avoid the traffic and stay home to watch the opening ceremony on TV instead of watching it live at Eden Park or even to be at the city tonight where there will be thousands of people gathering to celebrate with fireworks. I know, I am boring……!

But, but…….I do look forward to the live coverage on TV with heaps of eye candy in the form of muscular rugby players from all over the globe! And of course the infamous Haka dance.

The All Blacks team doing the Haka dance

The least I can do is show my love on Facebook  🙂

Go ALL BLACKS!!! (That’s the NZ rugby team and the only team I know…..)

Go New Zealand!!!

10 comments on “Rugby World Cup 2011

  1. D... says:

    I know nothing about Rugby, except for the scrum. Why because I like the word, and it reminds me of SCRUM which is an agile development methodology. Scrum..haha…OK I know I’m a dork.

    Yeah and the little dance they do is fun to watch. Good lord those are some beefy boys, but in a seriously good way. I hope you have fun. Scrum…teehee…

  2. nadia says:

    “That’s the NZ rugby team and the only team I know” Haha! That makes choosing a team a lot easier 😉

    I don’t know a thing about rugby, but good luck to your team!

  3. I have to admit I’m not a fan but I hope you enjoy the game!

  4. Emiel says:

    Ka mate! Ka mate! Ka ora! Ka ora!

    Ka mate! Ka mate! Ka ora! Ka ora!

    Tenei te tangata puhuru huru

    Nana nei i tiki mai

    Whakawhiti te ra

    A upa … ne! ka upa … ne!

    A upane kaupane whiti te ra!

    Hi!!!

  5. […] between watching the Rugby World Cup (RWC) opening ceremony at Eden Park being telecast live on TV at home or at the Queen’s Wharf near Viaduct with […]

Leave a Reply

