Waterworks

There was a time when I don’t cry easily. Especially at the movies. For example, when Jack sank to the bottom of the ocean shortly after Rose discovered he was dead, I felt really sad but not on the verge of tears. Not even close.

Then one day, as I flicked through the television, I decided to watch this cartoon for the first time in over 10 years. I remembered it was a childhood favourite – Disney’s The Fox and the Hound. As Widow Tweed drove Tod the fox into the forest and reluctantly started to abandon him there because of difficult circumstances, my eyes started welling up. The look on Tod’s face as she drove away made me sob!

Who knew, instead of the multi award-winning Titanic, it was an animated feature film that made me cry for the first time during a movie! Well to be fair, watch this and tell me it’s not sad!

People say that when that “door” is opened and you crossed over, you can never go back. The waterworks came freely ever since.

I cried when Marley died.

I cried when it was revealed by Kim that the snow actually came from Edward Scissorhands‘ yearly ice shavings because of his love for her.

I cried when Elizabeth sacrificed her own happiness for the sake of her people and declared that she was “married to England” and became the virgin queen.

I cried when Richard Gere appeared on the elevator, with a rose in hand to meet Susan Sarandon in Shall We Dance.

I cried as Woody, Buzz, Jessie, and the whole gang bid Andy farewell in Toy Story 3 (yes, another animated film, don’t judge!).

I cried pretty much all through The Joy Luck Club.

I cried during Hannah and Murray’s civil union.

I’ve become such a crybaby ever since re-watching a childhood cartoon about a make-believe fox! I still cry watching it. I think it’s the most touching scene ever.

Do you cry at the movies too? Which is your favourite tear-jerker?

24 comments on “Waterworks

  1. analyfe says:

    Todd and Copper is a sad one and Toy Story 3. I’m not much of a crier, but both or those made me tear up. Great topic!

  2. I love a good cry at films!Fox and Hound is so sad plus Bambi. I also cried at Toy Story 3 so moving! Other films I cry at are ones based on Nicholas Sparks books like The Notebook. Death scenes are the worst ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Khanum says:

    And I cry almost at every scene. Just yesterday, I cried so hard at a funny scene that my mother had to get me out of my room, as It was not very clear from my postures whether m crying or laughing. LOL….

    “I cried when Elizabeth sacrificed her own happiness for the sake of her people and declared that she was โ€œmarried to Englandโ€ and became the virgin queen.” me too.

  4. jgavinallan says:

    I’m still crying…Have I told you about The Road Home…staring Zhang ziyi…get the kleenex…
    Jaye
    PS: She is 18—her first movie

  5. Sendie-Lou says:

    I cry on everything.. I lose count. Even watching Winnie Th epooh with my baby I cried when Piglet got lost.

  6. D... says:

    It depends on the atmosphere. Sometimes I just think something is sad, but if I am alone and I feel like crying I sometimes do. And sometimes my emotions get the best of me and I just start crying at TV commercials. Not very often. Sometimes I’m just an emotional wreck. But I only let it come out in private. I can’t stand crying in front of people.

    • Tien says:

      I get what you mean, I try hard to suck it all back in when I have company too. Or I’ll find some excuse to go away for a while ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. kenix says:

    You turn to sentimental nowadays? :p

    • Tien says:

      Not nowadays, since re-watching the cartoon that fateful day years ago. Why very hard to believe I so sentimental?? Tsk! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Khanum says:

    I just remembered, on my trip to turkey, There I encountered such beautiful people. That it became a habit of mine to weep each day whenever a Turkish person gifted me sumthing or even mentioned that they love me and my country n don’t want me to leave. There I realized, its not just sadness that moves us but the great love behind everything brings us to tears.

  9. scrambled7 says:

    I always cry at the sad romantic scenes.

  10. Nicole says:

    Awww, I want to watch the ‘Fox and the Hound’ again sometime soon! But, yeah, that cartoon makes me cry too!!!

  11. Pink Woods says:

    Yeah! I think we’re the same. I used to not cry over anything easily like movies and stuffs. Then I read a book. And I got touched by the scene, and ever since, I became such a cry baby (especially for books)! But of course, I still hide my sobs when I’m watching movies with someone. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. mari says:

    I cry at everything, when I listen 2 songs from my childhood, reminds me of the time that is gone and how easy everything was. I cry at almost every movie and cartoon, i love anime and Naruto is been making me cry for the last 3 days LOL, another very sad movie is HACHI, I love dogs and that just broke my heart, im told Im a very evil person haha, so when people finds out I cry at movies and stuff they just cant believe it and make fun of me, and then they wonder why im evil….

    • Tien says:

      Hi Mari, thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts. I love the story of Hachi too…..so touching and bittersweet! I guess the saying “don’t judge a book by its cover” describes you best ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

