From A Potato To A Worm

I knew I had to do something with myself when I realised that I spent most of my time at home on the bed watching TV. From 7.00 pm to as late as 11.00 pm I am stuck on my bed, looking at the TV screen every weekday. Sometimes even more on weekends! On days when my favourite shows are not on, I stick by the TV like a loyal servant flicking through channels of nothingness until I feel sleepy. Such a waste of time!

After reading through Shinloo’s entry about a book she had just read – The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga, I was reminded of a time when I used to be an avid novel reader too. When I was between high school and university, I picked up some serious reading. By serious I meant books with lots of text and no pictures haha! And I remembered how I enjoyed painting the pictures of the stories in my head page by page. I especially enjoyed crime novels by Sidney Sheldon. Soon after starting university though, I stopped reading due to the infamous “I am busy with studies” excuse.

And then by the final year of my university days, Shinloo lent me one of her favourite books, a birthday gift from her friends she said – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. It was a page turner and I recalled finishing it within 2-3 days. I still remember much about the story until today.

I haven’t read one single book since.

That was when I knew I must pick up reading again. Replace TV time by reading time. A.S.A.P!

Wasting no time and feeling all enthusiastic, I decided to start right then and there. I switched off the TV, jumped out of bed and marched out to the lounge where I knew there were a collection of novels belonging to Hannah and Murray. I glanced through the titles and decided to pick the thickest one – Desperation by Stephen King and started reading that night. It was a nice read. Not mind-blogging awesome but good nevertheless. Mr. King’s imagination is amazing. In layman’s terms, he has a twisted mind to come up with all these supernatural stories. But hey, I wasn’t complaining. I finished it in 5 days and wanted to read more.

So the next day, I headed down to the public library to borrow another novel. I got the library card since last year and I can’t believe I haven’t used it even once although everything is free! Anyway, I marched into the library without a plan on which book to get. No worry, I told myself. pick any bestseller, it should be good. Do you know almost all books ever published is a #1 bestseller? Shelf by shelf I looked and every book has a #1 bestseller tag on its cover!

Determined to have a book to read on that night, I told myself I have to pick a book. I must! So which book? Stephen King. That was all I could think of. So, I picked up Insomnia and began reading that night. It was yet another supernatural horror story but it wasn’t as fast-paced as Desperation and I got bored after 300 pages. It ends at over 900 pages! I took over a week to finish it (with a few nights in between where I dozed off halfway reading 😉 ) After the last page, I was just glad I managed to finish it. No feeling of “Whoa!” or “That’s so awesome!”

Before my next library visit to return Insomnia and to pick up more books last Saturday, I did some research beforehand. Well of course! I should borrow The White Tiger that Shinloo blogged about! So I went in search of the author name Adiga at the library – none! What a disappointment. Ahh well, let’s pick something else up then. More Stephen King? Nah….two in a row is enough for now. So where to start?

I knew what I like. I like an old-fashioned story. Like flashbacks. Or backstories. Otherwise, I always enjoy crime novels like I enjoyed Castle, The Mentalist or C.S.I. on TV. I picked up – The Lost Diary of Don Juan by Douglas Carlton Abrams simply because it’s a “diary”. An old-fashioned story-telling book. Plus the picture of the author at the back looked really handsome!

Then I scouted somemore at the crime novel section. Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane. Hey isn’t that the movie starring Leornardo DiCaprio? I haven’t read a story in a book and watch it being re-lived in a movie before. Many friends said its a pretty cool experience. Plus I heard a lot of good reviews about the movie. So I grabbed that too. And planned to watch the movie after.

Still a little disappointed that I didn’t get what I was looking for, I decided to look somemore around the library to see what else was interesting before heading home. And there staring at my face was The White Tiger, in large print nonetheless! I took it off the shelf happily and checked out all three books. I finished The White Tiger in 2 days and loved it! It’s very intriguing! Recommended!

Tonight I start reading about Don Juan 🙂

What are you reading now? Any books you think I should read? Please recommend!

24 comments on “From A Potato To A Worm

  1. Harnew says:

    Why hasn’t Amazon shipped my order yet? This is what I thought when I seen that Shutter Island photo. Can’t wait to see it. Read great reviews.

  2. analyfe says:

    Reading is so much fun isn’t it? 😀 I also enjoyed White Tiger and learning about the Indian culture. Depending on what genre you like I could give you some more recommendations. My favorite “just for fun” reads are Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series (they have mystery, romance, and humor).

    • Tien says:

      Yes, the White Tiger is a page turner! A simple story but set on such a complex and almost “real” background. Erin, I know you are an avid reader. When I thought about coming up with a reading list, you are the first to come to mind. I will keep in touch 🙂

  3. D... says:

    I’ve got a kindle and barely use it, I’ve been having problems with it. But when I do read it, it usually the classics, because they’re free.

    I’m afraid I’ve become a couch potato and I’ve got to change that too. It’s been hot lately, that I’ve put off exercising, all I do is melt.

    • Tien says:

      Oh Danielle, tell me about it. Its so cold and wet here that it just puts me off going to the gym and getting wet. Start reading Danielle! It’s fun!

  4. nadia says:

    I’m so glad you left TV; it just makes your mind numb. Did you know that we do not have a television set at home? Reading is a much better way to spend your time. I’m into Indian authors lately. There’s a really nice store in Hyderabad that sells used books. I just went there a week ago to buy three books:

    1. The Namesake (Jhumpa Laheri)
    2. Interpreter of Maladies (Jhumpa Laheri)
    3. Beyond Belief (VS Naipul)
    4. The Red Carpet (Lavanya Sankaran)

    I’ll be going back to pay the bookstore a visit just before heading back to Dubai to get myself another set of books to read while I’m in the UAE (where books are awfully expensive). Will see if they have White Tiger.

    Perhaps you should do book review posts on a regular basis.

    ” Do you know almost all books ever published is a #1 bestseller?” Haha. That is so true!

    • Tien says:

      Nadia, no TV set? Wow……!!! But its true, its really a waste of time staring at the screen for long hours daily. And it spoils your eyes too hehe. I saw The Namesake movie and loved it! Those are the kind of movies I enjoy very much. With flashbackas and backstories….usually tearjerkers. I heard the same reviews about “The Kiterunner” too…and its also a movie. Thanks Nadia, I am writing down all 4 books into my list now 🙂 Do get the White Tiger, its not a very thick book, quite light reading really but very intriguing!

  5. nadia says:

    Oops. Correction: I bought *four* books, not three 😉

  6. I’m glad you’ve re-discovered reading, I love getting into a book! I read a lot of young adult books especially supernatural ones!

  7. scrambled7 says:

    YOU’RE BACK! I missed you!
    WOOHOO.
    And is White Tiger really that good?

  8. Beth Ann says:

    I had to laugh at your post today because I am zipping through books like crazy these days due to being in a “caretaker” position for my father in law. I mean there is really only so much cleaning and laundry you can do in a day, right???? I have a Kindle and have a ton of free sites I go to for books but I also brought along 6 library books this trip which are all read. I have been reading quite a variety of things lately and figure I will be very well read by the end of the summer. Can I remember what I read?? No. But yet I read. And am going to have to look up that White Tiger book…sounds good! Read on, my friend, read on!

    • Tien says:

      Haha, you’re right Beth Ann! It doesn’t matter if you remember it, as long as you keep reading! Yes, The White Tiger, is not too thick a book, and quite an easy read. I’m sure you will enjoy it 🙂 Thanks, here’s to you and me!

  9. Margie says:

    I just finished ‘The Household Guide to Dying” by Debra Adelaide. Really enjoyed it.

  10. Nicole says:

    I’ve been doing the same thing… reading instead of watching TV. It feels good to be holding a novel again!! 🙂

  11. genn says:

    White Tiger… reminds me of my literature textbook in junior college. I’m not sure what White Tiger is about, but The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston is a very profound book on Chinese American women.

    • Tien says:

      Its a simple story set in the background of India, its culture and state. A good read. I will write that book down, it sounds very interesting! Thanks Genn.

  12. emmily says:

    Wanna Consider reading Damaged by Cathy Glass.
    It is a very interesting read base on a true story of a foster child. You discover more and more secrets by the pages. Many couldn’t put it down.

Leave a Reply

