Upgrade

A Justice of the Peace (JP) in New Zealand is somewhat like a Commissioner of Oath who can verify copies of important documents with a “Certified True Copy” stamp. Getting documents certified by the JP is the only free service you can get here!

A few weeks ago, I went to the JP at the city library to get some documents verified. After a brief exchange of hellos with the kind old man, I laid out the photocopies and the original document on his table. He understood what I needed and got to work. As he was stamping and signing my documents, we got to some light chatting and I learnt that he is a retired lawyer, volunteering as a JP in the library.

After all was done, he took out a form in which he said he needed to fill in with my full name and some basic details for record. When he came to the checkbox for my age group, he placed his pen tip near the first box and asking to confirm, “You’re 20-29, yes?”

Without thinking, I answered a yes immediately like I always did. Well, it had stayed the same over the last decade, it felt like a no-brainer.

And then right after I said yes, I thought to myself and blurted out softly, staring into space, “You know, next year, I’ll be upgraded to the next age group….30-39.” 

He chuckled and handed me the form to sign. I signed it, smiled and thanked him. I walked out of the library that day feeling a little surreal. It hadn’t really hit me until then that my twenties are going to be over very soon indeed.

Wow…and I felt like I haven’t really achieved much in life. Do you ever feel that way? 

20 comments on “Upgrade

  1. jgavinallan says:

    OMG! I know the feeling…
    I walk around thinking I am just a little speck on the wall of life…or yes—I haven’t accomplished much in life.
    But, not to be dramatic..I am still alive. Believe me, there were times…

    Good luck and did you try my recipe?
    Jaye

  2. Nicole says:

    First of all, 30 is the new 20… 🙂 Just thought I’d throw that encouraging thought out there. Ha, ha. And, yes, I know the feeling too well. But maybe it’s not a bad feeling. Maybe it’ll be the feeling that really encourages us to make things happen… to live life to the fullest. And maybe this feeling will make our 30’s even more exciting than our 20’s were. 🙂

  3. Eva ZHOU says:

    I turned 30 this year but I didn’t feel it at all…it still feels the same in most aspects, sometimes I even feel younger(maybe because I feel more careless about things since I already turned 30 anyway…) So, it’s pretty good. 🙂

    • Tien says:

      That’s great to hear Eva! Actually its not the number that bothers me, its just that I haven’t really make full use of my life in my 20s and now its over before I knew it….!

  4. Sendie-Lou says:

    I don’t know Tien.. I’m 21. I’ve been 21 for 13 yrs now! Hahahaha 🙂 Actually my 30th birthday was the best one. It’s the year my 1st daughter was born, so I was happy and not thinking about being 30. It just hits me on this year birthday though that next year I’ll be 35 and closer to 40!!! Wow!!!

  5. Claire says:

    Yeah tell me about it… there are days where I suddenly realize “OMG I’ll be hitting the big three-o soon…” and when I think back on what I’ve done… I feel that it’s kinda ‘meh’ – that I should do more 😛

    • Tien says:

      Yes, that’s exactly what I was talking about Claire! Wedding pictures and baby pictures everywhere in facebook definitely do not help at all too LOL!! It still feels like last year that we finished SPM….. 🙂

  6. D... says:

    I like 30’s, you are way more comfortable with yourself. It’s less the time when you try to be things and realize you are things and are still developing. I wonder how forties are….

    • Tien says:

      That’s a very good point Danielle. I not too bothered by the number, just that my achievements seem to not match up to it…..somehow.

  7. Tien, I feel you girl! I’m turning 29 next month and I’m sweating about it.

  8. I do all the time! I’m 28 almsot 30 too boo 😦 But something great is around the corner for us both I know!

  9. nadia says:

    30s is indeed the new 20s – you’re done with studies, earning your own money as a professional, more confident, more comfortable with yourself. Now is the time to start accomplishing everything that you’d ever dreamed about.

    • Tien says:

      Thanks for your encouragement Nadia! I am not too bothered with the number really, just sometimes I feel like my achievements do not match up to it….. But I’ll get over it 🙂

  10. Anonymous says:

    In Bahasa, JP is Jaksa Pendamai whose abbrv. is also coincided (JP)…

Leave a Reply

