Stinky Garlic Bread

As much as I hate garlic for giving me bad breath and leaving behind offensive odour on my fingers for days, I don’t think I can live without it either.

Cooking without garlic is a disaster. It’s distinctive flavour enhances pretty much most dishes, be it French, Italian, Chinese, Indian….every cook must have garlic. Though always a flavour enhancer and often used as only a sidekick in dishes, the garlic bread is one that makes it the hero instead.

I love mine loaded with lots of garlic-buttery goodness. Hence the stinky garlic bread. Make sure you have good supply of mints. Plus, this is certainly not a smooch-friendly recipe 😉

The ingredients – a few slices of regular sandwich bread, butter (softened), salt and of course garlic! You will need some aluminium foil too. I used 2 whole garlic and it yielded about 10 slices of garlic bread. Half each slice and you get 20. Awesome for parties 🙂

First roast the garlic whole. Cut off the top to expose the bulbs, place a dollop of butter on top and wrap individually with aluminium foil into mini parcels. Chuck into preheated oven (middle rack) and let it bake at 160 degrees Celcius for an hour or until soft and caramelised.

Once done, open the parcels and let it cool until you can handle with your hands. You will see that it’s all soft and juicy and buttery and yum! Squeeze the bulbs out of the cloves, they should be pretty much falling off and slide out easily. Season with some salt. Mash, mash, mash until you get a consistent garlicky paste.

Spread butter generously on slices of bread. I halved all slices beforehand. Spread garlic paste thinly on each slice. Be careful not to spread too much on one slice, it will end up too strong and a little bitter. I say about half a teaspoon of paste or less on each full slice of sandwich bread.

Grill in the oven on the topmost rack at 200 degrees Celcius until slightly browned and crisp. About 5-10 minutes or so. And there you have it – stinky, buttery and crispy garlic bread!

If you like, sprinkle some Italian herbs and mix into the roasted garlic paste and you will have garlic-herb stinky bread. Or sprinkle some cheese right before grilling then you have cheesy, stinky garlic bread. Either way, its stinky-ly good! Happy trying 🙂

30 comments on “Stinky Garlic Bread

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I am now officially hungry….

  2. fariza says:

    aaaa.. a different version then mine ;D
    normally, i just add butter to crushed garkic, sprinkle chopped parsley to the mixture. Spread the mixture onto bread (normally i use baguette, sliced), then ‘bungkus’ dlm foil… 😉 But this one also have that ‘menggoda’ looks…yum, yum, yum! *hungry*

    • Tien says:

      I imagine baguette will be nicer, but I only had (expired) leftover bread in the fridge! Yours seem like a quicker way to do it! I’ll try it next time 🙂

  3. D... says:

    Here’s my list of LOVE:

    1. I love your new blog look, you have such pretty eyes. You gorgeous girl.
    2. I love garlic, I even love the smell of it. The smell of garlic lets me know I am going to eat something yummy.
    3. I love roasted garlic, you can even do it without oil, the heat brings out the sweetness (it’s a catalyst of the sugars in the garlic) and gives the garlic that mild flavor. I would drizzle with olive oil though, just to make it a bit healthier.

    • Tien says:

      Awww, thanks Danielle, you’re so schweet! I love garlic very much too. I didn’t know you can do it without oil, thanks for the tip! Yes, conventionally, you should use olive oil but I was feeling naughty that day and let my love for animal fat take over tee hee! 😉

      • D... says:

        I heart animal fat too, butter is sooo good. I love bacon too, I believe that almost anything tastes better with bacon, but I don’t use it too often. One time a boss of mine gave me a Ziggy cartoon clipping saying, “friends are the bacon bits in the salad of life.”

        I remember doing it without the oil, and it came out alright, but I think it can be a little dry.

  4. Claire says:

    I do it this way too… but instead of wrapping it up anad using butter, I drizzle a bit of olive oil and leave open. Then I mash it with generous dollops of butter. Oh and season it with a teensy bit of salt (if you’re using unsalted butter)and freshly ground pepper.

  5. scrambled7 says:

    Drools! I’m hungry!

  6. kimberlycun says:

    lovely! gonna try making garlic bread this way!

  7. Looks delicious! Am going to try it out this weekend. Thanks!

  8. Michi says:

    Oh, delicious!! In Spain, it is perfectly acceptable to smell of garlic. 🙂 So I go nuts eating all of the garlic I want – I love it!!

  9. nadia says:

    If garlics perished from the surface of the earth, I’d die immediately. I can’t imagine cooking without garlic. And I can smell your heavenly garlic bread all the way here 😀

  10. kenix says:

    i like ur new blog skin! it looks professional!! Garlic bread looks tasty. Is those photo you took yourself?

    • Tien says:

      Thanks Kenix, I am quite proud of what I did with the blog design too lol! This recipe will work with the oven toaster *hint hint* hehe. Yup, Terry was busy so I snapped away. Not bad hor? I think I am getting a grasp at this photography thingy hehehehe….!

  11. nrhatch says:

    Looks yummy!

    I adore garlic bread even if garlic breath isn’t popular with others. 😉

  12. Nicole says:

    Hmmm, my husband would LOVE this recipe! I’ll have to make it for him. 🙂

  13. This Italiana can’t live without garlic! Love this recipe! Thanks girl!
    xo
    Mindy

  14. jim says:

    Hi,

    Garlic bread sounds awesome!

    For a great guide on growing your own garlic see below.

    http://www.wascene.com/home-garden/grow-your-own-garlic/

    Regards,
    Jim

  15. […] Stinky Garlic Bread (tienunscripted.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

