What Would You Like On Your Eggs?

Sometime ago, I read this e-mail forwarded by a friend about a “mishap” which occurred live on a local Malaysian Radio show. The show was hosted by one of my favourites – Yasmin Yusuff, who was also crowned Miss Malaysia/Universe back in 1973.

I have always loved listening to her voice and wit on radio. This story is so good that it got stuck in my head until today, and possibly forever. Not too sure how true it is though. However, it never failed to make friends laugh when I tell it to them. So today, I am telling it to you 🙂

Yasmin was hosting her show as usual one morning and she posted a trivia live, prompting listeners to call her in with the answer. The first caller to answer correctly will win a prize. Her question that morning was:

“What is the common name for Sodium Chloride?”

In case you didn’t know the answer, it is simply Salt. About a minute later, this lady got through and attempted to answer the question.

Not knowing the answer, she asked Yasmin for a clue. Yasmin kindly responded, “This is something that you put on your husband’s eggs every morning.”.

Almost immediately after she heard the clue, the lady shouted excitedly on live radio, “TALCUM POWDER!!”

Yasmin went off air for commercial break for at least 10 minutes after that. Perhaps she should have said “This is something you put on your husband’s BREAKFAST eggs every morning!”

24 comments on “What Would You Like On Your Eggs?

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Oh my goodness. I can’t stop laughing!!!! You made my day!!! You may be held responsible for folks thinking I am insane from my hysterical laughing!!!

  2. Vixter2010 says:

    Haha hilarious! god knows what goes on at their house 🙂 I never put salt on eggs so i prob wouldn’t have got the clue!

  3. D... says:

    Oh that’s hysterical. Poor girl, how embarrassing for her.

  4. rossie says:

    hahaha.. still remember this joke.. it was told during our lunch at level 6 long ago.. we also speculated about the 10mins break that she had which made the joke even funnier.. hmm.. definitely one of the joke that i may not forget..

  5. Val says:

    Hahaha! Hee! (Do you want some actual words? I can’t – I’m laughing too much!) 😀

  6. Gian Carlo says:

    OmiGawd! 😀 that’s sooo funny. How embarassing. and not to tell it’s on air!

  7. Thank you so much for the morning laugh. Too funny! ♥ Diane

  8. nadia says:

    OMG, this is so hilarious!!! 😀

  9. Khanum says:

    hahhahahahahaha Tien this so funny! where the heck is that woman!

  10. I’m not sure I want salt or talcum powder on my eggs.

  11. EW! Powder on eggs?! LOL! I’m a ketchup girl.

  12. fariza says:

    ROTFL
    Memang super hilarious! And, i think i could still laugh over and over again!! *sakit perut*

Leave a Reply

