The Internet And Me

I survived life without internet for 5 days….!

The internet connection at home decided to crash on Good Friday (22 April). Murray is the one who usually manages the internet account at home and since he is still away on honeymoon with Hannah, this means no internet during the Easter weekend, through to Anzac Day on Monday and an additional observed holiday on Tuesday by the University. Which explains my abandoning this blog for like a week now. Oh how I miss blogging.

It was rainy and wet during the Easter weekend. I was stuck at home with no internet. For 5 days. I know, re-writing this made it seemed very daunting to me too. But I can’t believe that I survived it and worked out my modelling in the process. Ahhh….I realised I never really talked about what I do as a student. Well, I model. No really, I model.

Mathematical modelling that is! I have been trying to solve this one problem. By the way, that’s what we PhD students do, we create a problem (usually a complicated one) and then drive ourselves crazy trying to solve it in order to inch closer to graduation. In my case, I have been trying, (for months..!!) to derive an accurate mathematical expression to describe a complex chemical reaction. Yes, it drives me crazy every week day. The absence of internet, it seems, made me work and focus better on my modelling. Even though it’s not runway modelling, but still… 😉

I am guilty of spending way too much time on the internet checking e-mails, Facebook, chatting online, reading blogs when I should be doing something else of more importance. I am sure I am not alone in this 🙂 I thought I have an addiction to the internet. I felt like I will miss out a lot if I stop checking in for even a day.

But I went through 5 days straight doing just fine. It reminded me of the days when the internet was a luxury rather a necessity. While having no internet was a hassle for me because it made information access that much harder for my work, it has also gotten rid of unnecessary distractions that have potential to make me “wander off” from it. Yes I couldn’t blog or check on my favourite bloggers, but hey, it’s the internet, they won’t be gone 🙂

5 days of bad weather and no internet made me realise that life without internet is possible. Or rather, life with controlled internet access is possible and possibly healthier. I have a love affair with the internet, but not an addiction. What about you?

28 comments on “The Internet And Me

  1. fariza says:

    Wow!! Tahniah!!! tak lama lagi boleh submit thesis.. 😉
    Prof must be very proud of you !! hehe

  2. D... says:

    OMG, I think about it too. It’s sort of an addiction for me, like I can’t get be away from the internet for a while.

    I like that you talked about your school work. I feel so out of touch with my science. I am trying to go back to it, you know find my place in this world. It’s funny how all engineering is about modeling isn’t it. I was thinking about our critical paths and the modeling that one has to do. I miss it. And now I am rambling sorry.

    FYI I missed you 😀

    • D... says:

      whoops, like I can’t get be away from the internet for a while.

    • Tien says:

      Hi Danieeelllleee!!! I missed you, you happy peach 😉 I hate modelling really, everytime I do it I ask myself “What the hell are you thinking Tien trying to do a PhD???!!!” I am still on cloud 9 because I managed to solve this (for now)….awaiting “The Professor” to have his say now *fingers crossed*! Danielle, are you an engineer too?

      • D... says:

        I think going through your graduate degree, especially a PhD is intense. And I lived for the days when I used to get my work done and it was good.
        I’m a quasi engineer, a software engineer. Which I know is up for debate as it’s not the same sort of principles, but the liked us to do models too. I think the focus was less on the math part, but more on the design part. But we work with algorithms too. What’s your engineering area?

        • Tien says:

          Danielle, that definitely counts! You must be good with programming and coding too, I cant read or write codes to save my life haha! I’m in Chemical Engineering 🙂

        • D... says:

          I’m OK, I think the degree was geared towards project management. But I’m trying to diversify my programming language skills.
          Oh Chem, that sounds super hard to me. I was never a chemistry sort of gal. I took it in high school and the guy was sort of a jerk, I ended up with a mental block against it. According to my aptitude test I should have been a mechanical engineer (I think I scored like 92% towards it). Weird huh?

  3. Vixter2010 says:

    Wow what a nightmare but well done for being so productive! Like you I enjoy the Internet but I wouldn’t say it’s an addiction … Yet lol! Welcome back we missed you 🙂

  4. WOOOOAH! That is torture! I feel you though. When our computer died, I was bummed, but not as sad as I thought I was going to be. So glad you’re back!!!
    xo
    Mindy

  5. Khanum says:

    Gladd you’re back and wrote this post!!!!!!!

  6. Beth Ann says:

    I missed you, Tien!!! So glad the internet is fixed and you are back with us but happy that the modeling got done!!! You sound waaaayyyyyy too smart for me!!! I am just happy when the checkbook comes out right! 🙂

    • Tien says:

      Hi Beth Ann! I missed you and blogging too! No, the internet is still down at home. But at least I can go online at the Uni to take a peek from time to time 🙂

  7. How are you so hot but so nerdy?

  8. Nicole says:

    It’s SO hard going without internet! But so worth it! 🙂 Sometimes, it’s nice to take a break from technology

  9. Patti says:

    We should all probably be forced to go without for a few days periodically just to remind us about life. But I’m not planning on it soon 🙂

  10. nadia says:

    Congrats on making it internet-free for five days! I can’t live without the internet because it’s part of my job 🙂

  11. Tien says:

    Thanks Nadia….I am out of internet, still! I’m still surviving though 😉

  12. shinloo says:

    a suggestion, you could adopt my company’s policy… in my company’s network, i could only access google, their results and work-related websites… yahoo mail, hotmail, facebook, and other emails/social networking websites were forbidden 😀
    but sometimes it drives me nuts when i googled “how to insert tables in microsoft word” or that sort, i can’t access to those blogs or websites that teach me how to do that lolz…

    • Tien says:

      I know that works, since its blocked, you can’t get a chance to “wander off” at all. But, it only works if some kind of authority bans the sites. Because I have negligible self-discipline 😉

  13. Sarah Batool says:

    what a nice write up 🙂
    I actually like those writers who can present any other normal event in an interesting way,,you are one among them,,I’m new to blogging world,,,glad to come across your blog

Leave a Reply

