Of Clowns, Monsters And Vampires

Have you ever watched a horror movie that scared you so much, you just can’t wipe it from your memory?

Back in the day, before there was heavy use of CGI (Computer Generated Images), old-fashioned horror movies have only one objective. Well, to scare the audience! No fancy special effects or storylines, forbidden romance or unthinkable twists. Just good old-fashioned pure terror.

The story usually revolves around one or a small group of antagonists, followed by a series of strange and creepy encounters usually in a small town, then it is revealed that the villain – the centre of all horror is almost always a supernatural being. Either a vampire, monster, zombie or any other kind of evil being. Throw in several scary scenes, with eerie music or sound effects in between and end it off with the villain being destroyed forever and there you have it 🙂

I have memory of two of the scariest horror movies I’ve ever seen, at least in my opinion. I saw both movies during my early teens around 13 or 14 years old. I recalled having insomnia after watching them because I was so scared! Although I have little to no recollection of the full story, some of the scenes were so creepy I remember until today.

The creepiest, scariest character from a horror film I’ve ever watched is Pennywise the Dancing Clown from Stephen King’s classic, It. His white face, wide forehead, mocking laugh and crazy red hair still give me goosebumps! That movie changed the face of clowns forever for me. Yes, for that I am a little weary of Ronald McDonald’s too!

The most memorable scene for me is when this man was hugging his wife in front of the mirror and when he looked at the mirror carefully, he saw his face smeared with white and red paint, then noticed his “wife” was wearing this yellow clown outfit from the feet up and then *gasp* he was actually hugging Pennywise! Eugh…..writing this still give me the creeps! With some effort I managed to extract this exact scene from You Tube.

The second horror film that was very unforgettable for me is Salem’s Lot, about this small town terrorised by a vampire making more vampires out of its victims. Vampires with really scary make up that is. And surprise, surprise, also by Stephen King. No recollection of the storyline whatsoever, but I can remember this particular scene clearly. Two brothers, both kids, were running in a field in the middle of the night for some reason. Of course, then the vampire appeared and they ran. The younger brother tripped and fell, but his big brother continued running, abandoning him. He then reached home and went to bed.

Can you believe? His little brother was left outside with the vampire and he went to sleep! But anyway, I was left to assume that the little brother must have been killed by the vampire. Later that night he appeared outside his big brother’s bedroom window! Oh my goodness, he was floating, with this wide smile on his face, pale makeup and dark eye circles, screeching on the window glass wanting to come in! After that movie, I spent the whole night up with my back to the window not daring to even toss! Hands down, one of the scariest scenes ever *shivers*

Perhaps I should dig up both these films and watch it again, just for old time’s sake. Probably I won’t feel as scared as an adult.

Have you ever watched a horror film that you simply cannot forget too?

26 comments on “Of Clowns, Monsters And Vampires

  1. Claire says:

    Tien… of all pix and vids to post…. you had to put one of him! He still scares the bajeezers out of me… so much so that I didn’t even read your post 😛 I just scrolled all the way down.

    But speaking of him, there’s this mamak that I go to which has these drainage systems that look very much like the one Pennywise used to hide in… I always make sure I don’t park or walk near it because the first few times I did, I had this inkling that Pennywise was smirking at me from there….

    • Tien says:

      Claire, I know….I think I spent the next few weeks showering in fear after watching It. You know, in case he appears from any of the pipes or holes in my bathroom! One of the scariest villain ever!

  2. vixter2010 says:

    I haven’t seen those ones, i’m not really into horror, it’s usually laugh-able – why would you go in there alone? Why?!! I was scared by MJ’s Thriller video though as a kid 🙂

    • Tien says:

      Oh yes Vix, I always feel the same. Like “Don’t go in there!” or “Don’t open that door!” So true, they just have to be alone, haha! I used to be scared of MJ’s Thriller video too, especially the end when his eyes turned yellow! But then I love it so much I watched it repititively until I felt nothing anymore, just his awesome dance choreography 😉

  3. Ha! I’m with Vixter on the Thriller video, I was so scared but was obsessed with it as a kid! I was weird, I watched it while covering my eyes, but peeking through my fingers!

    The Exorcist still scares me. Super scary.

  4. Gian Carlo says:

    PARANORMAL ACTiViTiES!~ OH !

    • Tien says:

      Hi Gian Carlo! Haven’t watched that one yet. It’s a more modern style horror film isn’t it? More creativity in settings and storyline 🙂

  5. D... says:

    When I was a kid, say eight, I would hide when my family would watch scary movies. I don’t think I am too into them now, I’ve seen a few thrillers. I think it’s how they ratchet up your fears and anxieties till you are ready to just jump out your skin. The thought that it could actually happen just really freaks me out.

    • Tien says:

      I watched both the above with my mom and sis at home. My dad wasn’t interested. All three of us had insomnia lol! They don’t make horror films like old days now. They are more focused on impressive special effects and twists in storylines. And many were adapted either from Korea, Japan or Thailand. I think they still make very scary and grossed-looking ghost movies. And yes Danielle, those that make you really jump!

      • D... says:

        There are so many campy scary movies. I think they make them for teenagers, as the cast are mostly young adults. But I’m not as into the American horror films, I will say I like some of the Japanese and Korean films, they’re into the story being scary. Less about special effects, more about pulling you into the story.

        • Tien says:

          True! Some of them have good storylines. And the ghosts….oh so scary! For example Shutter (Thailand) and Ju-On (Japan), all adapted into Hollywood movies.

  6. I hate scary movies and especially ones with clowns or crazed dolls like Chuckie…give me a good comedy any day. Just the picture of that clown made me shudder…LOL. Hugs, Diane

  7. Megan says:

    I am such a chicken! I scare way too easily so I don’t even bother with horror films. When I was a kid, my family and I were headed to our cabin in the mountains one night and my sister and friends were begging my step-mom to tell scary stories and I was FREAKING out. She began telling stories of a clown, and balloons and a sewer grate and I was about readay to cry. Imagine my surprise when I was somehow convinced to watch Stephen King’s IT and put two and two together that the stories my step-mom was telling a few years earlier were from IT. Still can’t watch it!!!

    • Tien says:

      Hi Megan! Thanks for dropping by to comment! Your stepmom simply ripped Stephen King off lol! I am toying with the idea of re-watching IT…..maybe it won’t be that scary anymore since now I should um…”know better” 🙂
      Cheers!

  8. OMG yes!! The Ring when she comes out of the TV – I almost peed my pants…

  9. Michi says:

    I REFUSE to watch scary movies for this exact same reason! I already have insomnia, I don’t need to lose any more sleep.
    Oh those video clips were awful!!! I couldn’t press play, I just couldn’t. But I’ll take your word for it that they are frightening scenes.

  10. Patti says:

    I never saw the movie of Salem’s Lot, but that floating outside the window scene is crazy scary in the book!

    Actually the longest-lasting scare I ever had from watching anything was when I watched The Cube – all by myself one afternoon when I was 10 years old. A nightmarish look at being trapped in futility and meaninglessness. And I think it’s supposed to be funny. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Cube_(1969_film)

    • Tien says:

      Hi Patti! Thanks for dropping by to comment!
      Never heard of the The Cube though. I think we tend to get scared and remember something we watched when we were very young, making it unforgettable….even though it might not be as scary if we re-watch it as an adult. But its an exception for the window floating scene, at least for me. I still get goosebumps re-watching that scene after so many years!

  11. shinloo says:

    lolz the clown actually seem funny lolz…
    somehow this post reminds me of “the shining” starring jack nicholson and if not mistaken, by stephen king too… scariest scene – no actually it’s more like a disturbing scene – would be the part where jack nicholson’s wife discovered that he’s been typing repetitive sentences instead of writing a novel (he’s a writer)… the sentence was “all work and no play makes jack a dull boy”… then nicholson appeared with a crazy face trying to kill his own wife and kid… for some reason the repetitive sentence thing just creeps me out…

    • Tien says:

      I have recently rewatched The Shining! I was always creeped out by the scene where the kid saw the twins standing in the hallway drenched in blood. Yes, Jack Nicholson has a crazy face all through the movie! Although I have rewatched it, I still can’t really get what’s the reason behind all the madness. Some sort of haunting? Stephen King has a twisted mind like that to come up with these scary stories…

      • shinloo says:

        and the effects! don’t you think it’s quite amazing that these kind of old films have special effects that looked so real? not only nicholson, his wife looked scary too 😀

        • Tien says:

          Back in those days when movies are not flooded with CGI up to the point you can;t tell which is real and which isn’t, I think they did a pretty good job by their facial expressions and music effects to make up for the “scary” element.

Leave a Reply

