Playing Pretend

Remember when you were young how you enjoyed playing this game where you um, pretend? Either pretending to be someone or pretending to do something?

I had my fair share of fun pretending to cook sand in plastic cups, pretending that I was performing at the concert, pretending I was a bakery owner selling pastries made out of PlayDoh, pretending I was a deejay, pretending I had a unicorn and the list goes on. And who can forget that good old imaginary friend as well….?

Playing pretend does not get out of trend. Well, why do you think the global film industry is such a huge success? In fact, I think playing pretend is getting more serious. Thousands and thousands try their luck to make it as a professional pretender i.e. actor. Film producers spend serious money to make their “pretence” seem as less pretentious as possible. While we continue to have a good time watching them play pretend!

Anyway, I digressed. What I am trying to say is, we love playing pretend. From the day we were born and possibly for as long as we live.

So back to my story. The other day I bought a group-buy coffee deal from the local Grabone Ltd. – $5 for 5 coffees to go. On my first visit, I was issued a card and on which the barista would punch a hole in for each cup of coffee claimed. When I ordered my cup of cappuccino over the counter, he asked for my name to secure my order.

Instead of telling him “Tien”, I felt like pretending to be Tina that day. The barista of course, took it down without further doubt. Then I get to answer to “Tina” when my order was up. A little silly, but it felt fun to have “fooled” everyone there that morning that I was Tina and only I knew otherwise. I guess I have forgotten how much fun it was to play pretend 🙂

A couple of days later, I went back for my second cup of coffee, I randomly pretended to be Sharon! Amazing how this silly little game I was playing by myself lifted my mood for the entire day. It also helped that the barista have forgotten to punch my card so now I get to have one extra coffee for free 😉

I have 4 more coffees to go and I am already making a list of personalities I want to pretend to be. Maybe pretend to be one random celebrity per day? One author per day? One politician per day? So many possibilities!

So, the next time you head on for a cup of coffee at your local Starbucks or the like, try playing pretend for a bit and see how you miss it 🙂

45 comments on “Playing Pretend

  1. erecipes says:

    Great post excellent job. Thanks for sharing. I really enjoy reading your blog very much.

    ~ Enjoy our Recipes ~

  2. analyfe says:

    Pretending is fun! I think I’ll have to try the name-game one of these days. 🙂

  3. D... says:

    I used to want to tell people different names when I answered the phones, but never did. But giving them the wrong name at Starbucks would make me panic, one I use a credit card (oh yeah, I carry no cash) and two what if I forget which name I use. Because I may panic and do that. So I’ve never been that brave. But my vote is that tomorrow you be Celeste. If they pick up on this, they may think you’re got some sort of personality disorder (I kid I kid)

  4. Claire says:

    Sweetheart, why do you think I masquerade on social networking sites with a different name? 😛

    p/s: would appreciate it if you don’t burst my bubble hahaha

    • Tien says:

      Right, Claire…OK, my lips are sealed 😉

      • Claire says:

        Thanks Tien/Tina/Sharon/Whatever your name is today 😛

        And it is indeed a delight to know that I’m not the only one who does this! Hahaha

        (Half the people on my list actually still do not know who I really am hahaha)

  5. vixter2010 says:

    Haha pretending is fun and I like the coffee name idea, although they make start to recognise you and think you’re crazy 🙂 I also used to play with PlayDoh 🙂

  6. genn says:

    Sounds like fun! Without playing pretend, I already have too many names sometimes I can’t even remember which one I used. 😛

  7. How fun, Tien (or is it Tina, or Sharon, or…)! Love your personality and fun post. Took me back to once as a young girl (but old enough to know) I pretended to make chocolate cakes out of mud pies. Then went door to door with my little red wagon trying to sell them. I do think I sold at least one to a very loving neighbor. My entrepreneurship began at a young age I guess. Thanks again!

  8. Margie says:

    When my husband fills out a customs declaration form at the border, he fills in my occupation with something different every time. Then he tells me what I should pretend to be, if someone should ask…

  9. nadia says:

    Pretend to be Nadia next time 😀

  10. Okay, so you need to stop reading my mind! Yesterday’s post (http://fisilis.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/sneak-peek/) was a preview, but I was totally playing make-believe all day! I was pretending to be an actress from the 1890’s then I was pretending to be a ghost. Yo’re never to old to play that game.

  11. fariza says:

    hahaha…. funny! Hey, why don’t you use a name which is really hard for them to pronounce, and correct them everytime they pronounce it wrong… just to add more fun (to see their reactions to that! hahahahaha)

  12. Rue says:

    I take it you go to the same coffee place? What happens on the day they recognise you? 😛

  13. Beth Ann says:

    I am afraid to play pretend because I am afraid I would forget who I was that day!!!! I have a hard enough time some days remembering my own name!!! LOL Great to find you (via Diane at Simply Diane) and I am subscribed!!!! Don’t want to miss a post!!!!

    • Tien says:

      Hi Beth! Thank you for dropping by. Glad to hear you like my posts 🙂 But it’s just for a few minutes, I guess you’ll be fine. Cheers!

  14. Nicole says:

    Ha, ha. That sounds like fun.

  15. shinloo says:

    I like your post, Tien. That seems like a great idea. I mean, sometimes I tell people that my name is ShinLoo and they have a really hard time pronouncing it! And I’ll have to repeat my name, just so they can pronounce it wrongly again. My french boss until now doesn’t know my name! Argh!

  16. Haha I love pretending 🙂 I do that occasionally too, giving out a different name at coffee shops, especially if I’m abroad where nobody will get my name right anyways… Feels fun!

  17. Khanum says:

    remind to write a post about ur post!
    And btw, I like ur post ! 🙂

  18. Bill Tucker says:

    I have forgotten how much fun it is to actually pretend. My posting on the surprise wedding was a story about a great pretender, my friend Diane. Fun post!

Leave a Reply

