Unblocked!

On my 52nd post on Tien Unscripted, I had a “blogging meltdown” – major blogger’s block. I have mentioned that I am not proud of some of the posts I published because they are mundane, boring and “forced”, that particular post included. I take that back! I am so glad I wrote and published that post, reaching out to other bloggers out there.

That post was a product of frustration and a desperate attempt of getting a blog post published anyway. I am so touched by all your kind comments, encouraging words, tips, suggestions and your sharing of experiences about blogging with me. I realise now that I have been approaching blogging the wrong way. I was trying too hard and being too hard on myself! I forgot that blogging should be light, fun and casual.

So folks, from today onwards, my blogging motto is K.I.S.S – Keep It Simple, Sweet.

Thanks for being there and offering your support, assuring me that I am not alone. Even though we are “practically strangers”, I feel like I have known y’all a long time…..at least in the blogosphere! Now I can truly testify that the best thing about blogging is getting to know wonderful, wonderful blogger friends whom I can always turn to whenever I need a shoulder to lean on.

I am so inspired and fired-up by your inputs that I have decided to compile all the tips and suggestions you have made and dedicate it to all bloggers out there. I re-phrased some of your words to make them fit nicely in this post, hope you don’t mind. It’s your brilliant suggestions that matter 🙂

Now everytime I feel like I can’t blog, this is the post I will re-read and re-read and re-read over, and over again…!

You are my rock, love y’all!

“Whenever I run out of things to say, I start taking pictures or recall random things about me and blog about it.” -Nadia-

“I capitalise on the days when I have a lot of things to say, by saving draft posts, some just with titles and some with just a few words – to remind me what I want to write about when I run out of things to write. Pictures are a good way to ‘cheat’ and it’s something I use often. If not, you can consider sharing meaningful quotes.” -Genn-

“I round-up interesting things I’ve found out or thought about throughout the week and shcedule it for Fridays. None of them constitute to a full post. I use Google Reader to keep my feeds in. It lets me add a star to the posts I like and a review of the starred items help job my memory” -Margie-

“Pick a theme or one part of your day, like at three in the afternoon and take a picture no matter what you are doing. We all get those little moments that makes it harder to compose our thoughts, or figure out what we want to talk about. We’re all here for each other.” -Danielle-

“On days when I have a lot of ideas, I make drafts. On my writer’s block days, I polish up my drafts. Sometimes I play off of my mood. If I’m feeling nostalgic, I’ll write about a memory. If I’m feeling excited, I’ll write about something I am looking forward to. Don’t stress! It’s supposed to be fun!” -Mindy-

“Never ever think of the subject that much, it will only ruin your flow of words! As far as the post ideas for blogging are concerned, well look around! There are topics everywhere. You just need to learn to pick up things and mold them into your blog.” -Pervisha-

“I think it helps to find your nitch and to know your readers. One thing I do now is to have scheduled days. I have Saturday Snapshot so I only need to post a picture. I have Sunday Fixin’, so I post a recipe. I think I’m going to start Fitness Fridays in which I talk about my determination to get back into shape. So now I only have to worry about Mondays through Thursdays.” -Nicole-

“I think it’s best to post whenever you have something to say. Otherwise, read.” -Julie-

“When I blog, I have something to say and am not forcing things. I think best blogs are inspired by a sense of fascination with the world and what is happening currently, either to me personally or in the world. Timeliness and relevancy to current feelings or situations create the most interesting and authentic blogs. A couple of other things I love about blogging, is sharing links, sharing information, making someone else’s world richer with things that I have discovered or have given me an ah-ha moment. If you are bogged down by the blog and have too much to say and can’t figure out how to sort it all out and then just throw in the towel because you are afraid that you aren’t sounding absolutely brilliant (a curse of course because all bloggers want to sound brilliant and witty), try just limiting yourself to a paragraph. Write about what is in your mind at that moment but in the briefest manner possible. You connect with your readers, feel good about yourself too because you are keeping your blog alive with your thoughts! Think of it like as if you were tweeting something. But just a tad longer.” -Melissa-

13 comments on “Unblocked!

  1. nadia says:

    Such precious suggestions! And I’m not just saying it because I’m mentioned up there (although I have this silly smile plastered on my face since reading this post). You seem to be a very honest person, Tien. And this makes your post reach out to us.

    I’m going to bookmark this post. I’m so glad you compiled all the suggestions in one place. Thank you!

  2. D... says:

    I’m so glad you got your groove back. I myself decided to take the night off from posting.

    You’re so right, even though we are relative strangers, we’re really a supportive community. Thinking that way makes it easier to blog (I’ve seen some blogs from others that were just mean, so I stay away from those types).

    Happy Dance for Tien
    Smiles D 😀

  3. shinloo says:

    You’re my inspiration, Tien!!! And you’re one of my few readers in the geographically blind so I’m expecting you to visit it every time it’s updated. 😉

  4. vixter2010 says:

    Some great suggestions. Don’t worry about being honest and don’t be hard on yourself, I enjoy reading your posts and love having you as a blogging friend!

  5. Jaclyn Rae says:

    Blog friends are the best! I love this post and all the quotes 🙂 You are fabulous, darling!

  6. Glad to have found your blog, Tien. Don’t be too hard on yourself, just keep doing what you’re doing and all will be fine:) Have a great weekend. Diane

  7. […] most helpful post has to  Unblocked – the one following my 52nd post, in which I wrote about my blogging meltdown. It is simply a […]

Leave a Reply

