52

This is my 52nd post on Tien Unscripted! πŸ™‚

I wasn’t keeping track of the number of posts I was writing until a few minutes ago when I noticed it on my dashboard.

Alright, to be honest, I have been staring at my computer screen since two hours ago, trying to blog. Typing and backspacing and deleting and retyping and finally deleting everything!

Somehow, my blog subscription page just wouldn’t load and I have resorted to clicking on the links in my blog post comments to read blogs I subscribe. After tracking 3-4 blogs that way, I got tired. So, no luck getting inspirations through reading my favorite blogs this time.

I tried Plinky for some prompts. And I was back to the process of typing, backspacing, deleting, retyping and deleting everything and repeated that for about 3 times. Then when I resumed staring blankly at my dashboard, I saw that I have already published 51 posts and this would be my 52nd if it ever gets published. Thus the opening line in this post.

When having writer’s block, write about writer’s block, eh?

I have another confession. I get writer’s block very often. Or is it blogger’s block?

I have not gone through one week of blogging without writer’s blogger’s block since I started last December. I committed myself to publishing at least three times a week, consistently from day one. Even that was is a challenge for me. I refuse to let myself break my blogging pattern because I know that I will eventually just stop and abandon my blog altogether if I start to do so. Like I did for my previous blogs *blush*.

I find myself churning so hard sometimes just to keep to that commitment that some of my published posts are mundane, boring and seemed “forced”. Not proud of those….(this one included).

I salute bloggers who signed up for the WordPress’ DailyPost Challenge and have kept to it for like two and a half months now! When I saw that challenge, I know I wouldn’t be able to do it, so I didn’t bother. I figured three posts a week would be a good enough challenge for myself and I was right!

You know who you are! If you blog everyday or more than 5 days a week consistently, how did you do it? How did you come up with so many interesting topics to blog about every other day? Do you ever get writer’s block? If so, how did you get over it?

Please, please, please share….I really need the help! Anyone?!

25 comments on “52

  1. Hannah says:

    I can’t do it Tien. I started a blog once and it lasted one day. The only reason I keep my work website stuff updated is because I get paid for it. I’m terrible at staying motivated. You are doing an awesome job!

    • Tien says:

      Awww thanks Hannah! I try reeeaaaalllly hard to keep it going πŸ™‚
      I think you write really well Hannah, I enjoyed all your notes in facebook. I was about to ask you how come you didn’t have a blog? Now I know πŸ˜‰

  2. nadia says:

    I blog once or twice a week, that’s all. Personally, I think blogging one post per day is too much of a task. Whenever I run out of things to say, I start taking pictures of random things about me and post about it.

    • Tien says:

      Yes, I don’t think I can handle daily posts too. But kudos to those who are doing it, they’re amazing! Ahhh, take pictures, that’s a good idea. Maybe that’ll help me. Thanks Nadia!

  3. genn says:

    Sure, there are days when I feel uninspired to write anything, and it shows in the way I write. So I capitalise on the days when I actually have a lot to say, by saving draft posts. At this moment, I have about 15 drafts posts, some just with titles and some with just a few words – to remind me what I want to write about when I run out of things to write about.

    Pictures are a good way to ‘cheat’ and it’s something I use often. If not, you can also consider sharing meaningful quotes.

    You have a beautiful garden. Take pictures. Write about it!

    • Tien says:

      Thanks Genn! During days when I have a lot of creative juices flowing means only 3 drafts max. Even then, when I try to elaborate on those drafts, I struggle too. Maybe I am still not really warmed up with blogging. I will soldier on! Pictures and quotes, okay! Thanks again πŸ™‚

  4. Margie says:

    I know I couldn’t write a post a day, so I have said I will write 3 posts a week. My Friday post is a round-up of interesting things I’ve found out or thought about during the week. None of them are things that constitute a full post. These are very easy to write because I add to them as the week goes by, and schedule them for Friday.

    I use Google Reader to keep my Feeds in. It lets me add a star to the posts I like, and a review of the starred items helps to job my memory.

    I fed Biscuit for you, by the way…

    • Tien says:

      Thanks Margie! Since I started blogging I have become more alert in observing my everyday life, scouting for things to blog about! Unfortunately, most of the time, my life is pretty bring (LOL!). Maybe I should start using Google reader too, thanks for the suggestion!
      And Biscuit says thanks πŸ˜‰

  5. D... says:

    Maybe it’s more like you have so much to say that you can’t even get yourself to say it? That happens to me, I’ve got like five drafts that I have to go back and finish. I know what you mean about starting a blog and then leaving it. I tried it once before and it just didn’t take. I think I wasn’t into it. For me, it’s the friends that I am making that gets me to commit to blogging. Also you have to balance the personal items with what you are willing to share, that’s hard sometimes. Maybe pick a theme or one part of your day, like at three in the afternoon take a picture, no matter what you were doing. Here’s another blog that I love thisisnaive. She’s a really sweet girl just like you. Don’t worry we’re here for your Sweetie. Go TIen!!!!!

    • Tien says:

      Thanks Danielle, your words always make me smile πŸ™‚ She has a very nice blog, thanks for recommending! Okay, go me…..! Thanks for all your suggestions too, I will keep that in mind!

      • D... says:

        I’m glad I can make you smile. I think you’re doing great, we all get those little moments that makes it harder to compose our thoughts, or figure out what we want to talk about. We’re all here for each other. πŸ™‚
        D

  6. I agree with Genn. There are days where I have so many ides! I make drafts of all of those ideas that day. On my writer’s block days, I polish up my rough drafts. I sometimes play off of my mood. If I’m feeling nostalgic, I’ll write about a memory, if I’m feeling excited, I write about something I’m looking forward to. I’ve written posts about my daily routines, cool websites I’ve found, and even about my dog’s bed head.
    You’re doing great Tien. Don’t stress. It’s supposed to be fun!
    xo
    Mindy

  7. Khanum says:

    Tien, Let me give you a very sound advice. “Never ever think about the subject that much” it would only ruin your natural flow of words. Trust me, better not to think at all. πŸ˜› I do get a writer’s block and that happens only for 2 reasons.
    Number one: I have already mentally written and posted my post or story that when it comes to real writing, I can’t think of a word!
    And Second reason is – God wants me to write better. So He simply deprives me of words in order t help. πŸ™‚

    As far as the post ideas for blogging are concerned, well look around. There are topic everywhere. U just need to learn how to pick up things and mold them for your blog. The post you read on my blog today FIRE EXIT popped up into my brain while talking to a friend On fb. She said there are dramas in family and I said back yeah, university really was our fire exit and BINGO!!! I had a topic for today’s post. πŸ˜› And Now I will say, I have just found another topic: HOW I GRAB IDEAS FOR MY BLOG πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› see. its easy!

    • Tien says:

      Wow, Pervisha, you are a natural at this! Sometimes random topics pop into my mind too but like you said, when it comes to really type it out, my mind goes blank! Thanks for sharing your suggestions and experience! I will try not to think about it too much and let it flow πŸ™‚

  8. Nicole says:

    I get writer’s block ALL the time!!! πŸ™‚ Sometimes, I’m actually relieved when I spoil dinner or get a flat tire, because I think, “YES, now I have something to blog about.” Ha, ha. Sad, I know. I had a really hard time when I first started blogging and I still do sometimes. I think it helps to find your nitch and to know your readers. One thing I do now is to have several scheduled days. I have Saturday Snapshot, so I only need to post a pic. I have Sunda Fixin’s, so I post a recipe. I think I’m going to start Fitness Fridays, in which I write about my determination to get back into shape. So now I only have to worry about Mondays through Thursdays… πŸ™‚

    • Tien says:

      Thanks Nicole for the tips! Yes, sometimes it gets so hard that I ask myself, “why am I doing this???” But again, the best thing about blogging is the new friends I am making and their encouragement and comments are really what motivates me most. πŸ™‚

  9. Hey Tien,

    What a sweet blog you have. I like it a lot. I thank you for commenting over at my blog. I wonder how our two blogs have met? Still, you are doing a great job over here.

    I can totally relate to this post. I’ve had days like this. Who hasn’t? I believe it’s best to post if you have something to say. Otherwise, read. πŸ™‚

    Julie

    • Tien says:

      Hi Julie, thank you for stopping by and your kind comments! I think I found your blog through a link when you left a comment somewhere… I enjoy your blog a lot. Thanks for the tip, will keep that in mind!

  10. Ciao Tien, I have to confess that I rarely get writers block. I LOVE to blog and would give up my day job it I could to do it every day! I have a purpose with my blog. To improve my Italian (I write my blog in Italian by the way!) But the best thing about about my approach to my blog is that I am not constrained by one tired old theme i.e., how to learn Italian. As long as the blog is in Italian, any subject is fair game. I write about anything and everything, mixing it up from whimsical flights of fantasy to serious reporting on a current event. One day I can hear a song on the radio and dip into my blog and write a little something about what it means to me, a little something about the singer and post links for others to hear the song too. Or, I might blog about the Big Lunar Moon that we saw last weekend and talk about all the other whimsical and looney things I had found surfing the net that week. I get a lot of inspiration just from reading posts on twitter & FB and following the interesting links to interesting stories on the internet.

    When I blog I have something to say and am not forcing things. I think best blogs are inspired a sense of fascination with the world and what is happening currently, either to me personally or in the world. Thus, I am not forcing a false blog, just to get something down in writing, because I think I should. I often jot down a list of ideas…but sometimes I find, if I don’t get around to writing a blog about something on the list, I get a sense that the timeliness of the idea has passed and if I were to try to write about it would then just seem like work and not interesting any more. Timeliness and relevancy to current feelings or situations therefore create the most interesting and authentic blogs. When I sit down to my keyboard, I have a kernel of an idea already in my head about what I am going to write and I am actually excited to flush out the idea to share with my readers!

    Oh, and a couple of other things I love about blogging, is sharing links, sharing information, making someone else’s world richer by things that I have discovered or have given me an ah ha moment. I am crazy about Italian and I am so excited to share this passion with others. I feel a little bit like an ambassador of all things Italian. I also am a graphic designer, so love collecting images to make each blog article sparkle and visually fun to look at.

    In bocca al lupo! A presto! Melissa

    • Tien says:

      Ciao Melissa! (That’s about all the Italian I know….hehe) Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Ahhhh, you are a natural at blogging, you get me excited with your enthusiasm! I agree that blogging is all about passion and fun. I always have random topics I want to blog about but I find it hard to put it in words most of the time. Maybe I have too much to say and I don’t know how to start…lack of focus you may say. And then there are days that I am just plain lazy to think *blush*. I know it’s bad to push myself to churn out a post when nothing is flowing but I am worried I will give up when I start to “skip” blogging days…..then I may abandon my blog (again!). Bad….very bad, Tien! I am so touched by all the comments I got from this post, all so positive, all so encouraging. I am all fired up now! Thank you for all the tips Melissa, cheers! πŸ™‚

  11. Hey Tien, if you are bogged down by the blog…and have too much to say and can’t figure out how to sort it all out and then just throw in the towel because you are afraid that you aren’t sounding absolutely brilliant (a curse of course because all bloggers want to sound brilliant and witty)…try just limiting yourself to a paragraph…write about what is in your mind at that moment but in the briefest manner possible. You connect with your readers, feel good about your self too that you are keeping your blog alive with your thoughts! Think of it like as if you were tweeting something…but just a tad longer…

    Looking forward to your next blog (no pressure of course!!!) πŸ™‚

    • Tien says:

      Oh I think you got me spot on Melissa! I think it’s a good idea to break it down and look at it a paragraph at a time instead of one whole post of 400-500 words…. Thank you, thank you Melissa, I think that’s exactly what I should do πŸ™‚

  12. […] my 52nd post on Tien Unscripted, I had a “blogging meltdown” – major blogger’s block. I […]

  13. […] most helpful post has toΒ  Unblocked – the one following my 52nd post, in which I wrote about my blogging meltdown. It is simply a compilation of tips on how to overcome […]

Leave a Reply

