Cupcakes, A Ferret And A Hamster

I was browsing through my fellow Malaysian and student friend Fariza’s blog recently. Ogling at pictures of her amazing homemade cupcakes decorated with colourful icing. She is an awesome cook and a very talented artist, my friend Fariza 🙂

Fariza's cupcakes with butter icing

Fariza's cupcakes with royal icing

See….? What did I tell ‘ya…?! They are simply gorgeous. And she is one of the most gifted photographers I know too. She takes all her own pictures, including those above which I borrowed with permission. You can view more of Fariza’s and her husband’s work here.

Okay, before I get distracted by the cupcakes (yet again)…..let’s move on.

So, my eyes then wandered off to her blog sidebar and I noticed that her well-mannered 11-year-old son also has a blog of his own. The curious me clicked on the link and arrived at Amir’s cute little blog. I get to visit the world of an 11-year-old boy through his posts. Again, my eyes wandered off to his blog’s sidebar and I saw these cute virtual pets that Amir “adopted”.

I clicked on the link to check out more and I am hooked!

Abowman is a web developer and he coded several cute and lively virtual pets and other cool stuff which you can “copy and paste” to make it your own! You can choose from fish, turtles, a dog, a frog and other interesting images like a clock, Newton’s cradle and more. The best part about these virtual pets is, you can interact with it! It follows your mouse around and with one click you can feed it, how awesome is that!

Bunnyhero Labs is even better. Their pets are more cartoony and you can actually rub and stroke your pet with your mouse and they respond like a kitten does! You get to feed it with different kinds of treats too. My personal favorite is the ferret. I would have adopted it (I even named it Coco already) but because the HTML code contains “flash”, “javascript” and “iframe” tags, it is forbidden by WordPress to embed 😦

Coco the ferret

Fortunately, those from Abowman works just fine! Guess what, I adopted a hamster. I named it Biscuit! This is how Biscuit looks like:

Isn’t he a darling? He even moves and behaves like a real hamster, very lively indeed. Now, in case you haven’t noticed, Biscuit now “lives” in my sidebar – right below the “Recent Comments” widget. Oh look, he’s just on your right! Play with Biscuit, he’s really adorable 😉

  1. Move your mouse around his cage, Biscuit follows you around, eager for you to feed him.
  2. Click once anywhere within his cage to give him a treat.
  3. Click once in the middle of the wheel (the yellow circle) to make him run!

I can’t get enough of Biscuit, he’s going to be around for quite sometime. He even scrubs his face like a real hamster does (awwww……). Do play with him and give him a treat whenever you drop by okay? Or you can get yourself one too 😉

Boy, I can’t believe I am fascinated with something I found in the blog of an 11-year-old tee hee….!

P.S. Happy, happy birthday to Shinloo!

30 comments on “Cupcakes, A Ferret And A Hamster

  1. fariza says:

    thanks for those kind words, tien…
    nak cupcakes ker? ;D

  2. Khanum says:

    the beautiful sight of these cupcakes reminded me of my days in the kitchen – When i used to bake! I wonder why I ever stopped. Oh yes, I just remembered…My mom banned me from her kitchen! lol

    Nice post again! I love it

  3. D... says:

    Oh those do look delish, I love cupcakes they’re like miniature cakes designed for one person. Imagine having a whole cake to yourself, how decadent. Gosh, I’m in cupcake land now. And you weren’t the only one fascinated with biscuit. He’s so cute.

    Sweet thoughts to you Tien from me in Cupcake land!

  4. Gian Carlo says:

    Wow! This is awesome. I’ll adopt one. too 🙂

  5. Gian Carlo says:

    where will i put the embed code? sorry,:)

    • Tien says:

      Hi Gian Carlo! Copy the code, go to Appearance, then Widgets. Drag the Text widget into your sidebar. Then paste the code in there. Have fun!! 😉

  6. vixter2010 says:

    I love me sone cupcakes and they look so yummy! Ah enjoy your hamster pet 🙂

  7. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Aww, the little hamster is so cute! 🙂 I’m going to have to get one too 🙂 Thank you for sharing this with us!

  8. Gian Carlo says:

    THANX TiEN 🙂

  9. nadia says:

    Your friend is truly talented … those cupcakes are so pretty!

    Oh, and please do take Biscuit to see the vet. I think I might have overfed him.

  10. Woaah! Those cupcakes have got my craving one! They look deeelish!

  11. Val Erde says:

    Hi, just surfed into your blog from ‘A Lighter Shade of Grey’. Love the designs on these cupcakes, I’ll have to visit the site and look at more. I love Abowman’s widgets and in fact was there just a few days ago to see what’s new and was happy to discover that he’s now making them for wordpress.com. So… maybe I’ll put one or two on my sidebar too!
    🙂

    • Tien says:

      Hi Val Erde, thank you for stopping by to comment! Yes, she has more amazing shots in her flickr. Abowman’s really cool. Have fun 😉

  12. wow the cupcakes look amazing!!!

  13. Jaclyn Rae says:

    Those cupcakes look soooo good! 🙂

  14. Nicole says:

    Those cupcakes are PERFECT!

  15. shinloo says:

    Thanks for the birthday wish, Tien 🙂 Love the hamster. Maybe I’ll adopt one too. Let’s see what are other animals available for adoption… hmm…

    • Tien says:

      You’re welcome! Cute right? Hey, you’re on blogger so the ones from Bunnyhero labs works on your blog too. You have more to choose from 🙂

Leave a Reply

