It Isn’t Spring

It feels like spring. At least in the blogosphere. Almost everyone is blogging about spring, flowers blossoming, ice melting and warmer days. However waaaaaay down south in New Zealand, it isn’t spring at all. Instead, autumn is approaching…

The reality finally sank in when I needed to wear long pants and socks to bed last night. Just minutes ago, I pulled out the duvet from deep inside our closet. The tomato and long bean plants are withering and most of the lettuce plants are ready to be pulled out.

However, all is not lost!

After doing so well in summer, my strawberry plants are now focusing all its energy to make babies! Runners are sprouting non-stop in place of strawberries and Terry had been laying little containers and pots around to “receive” them. Roots start to grow at the tips of these runners as soon as they “find their ground” and turn into new strawberry plants.

Instead of one, now we have a total of 8 strawberry plants, 7 of them from runners. Let’s hope these little babies survive through the winter chill and develop into their full potential next summer.

And last but not least, the late boomer finally arrived – our cauliflower πŸ™‚

25 comments on “It Isn’t Spring

  1. vixter2010 says:

    Strawberry plants yay – I love strawberries. looks like you grow a lot of your own fruit and veg, which is cool. Don’t get too cold over there πŸ™‚

  2. nadia says:

    Wow, you’re having organic fruits and vegetables. I can’t tell much from the pictures, but how big is your garden? And what else have you planted? I’m excited about gardening because that’s something I don’t have (I live on the 9th floor apartment).

    I do hope the strawberries survive winter.

    • Tien says:

      Just a little patch at the backyard Nadia. We have two small patches, one about 2X2 meters and the other just 2X1 meters. Last summer we had tomatoes, long beans, lettuce and cauliflower (which just started to bloom only now). The strawberry plants were from summer 2009 when we first bought it and it survived til now.

      Nadia I have friends in Malaysia growing cherry tomatoes from pots in their apartment balcony and also some green herbs like basil….maybe you should try too! I know chillies grow in pots too..

      Yes I hope they will pull through…. πŸ™‚

  3. I can’t wait to start my first garden in a few weeks!!! Your strawberry vines are getting me excited for it!
    xo
    Mindy

  4. D... says:

    Oh I love gardening, it’s so relaxing (except for those little buggies). But it’s sort of one of those life affirming activities. I’m with Mindy, the strawberries are getting me excited too!!!!

    • Tien says:

      Ahh the bugs and slugs, I’ve almost forgotten about them. They’re major nuisance! I should start collecting eggshells again. Share your gardening adventures Danielle!

  5. Nicole says:

    Hmmm, there’s nothing like fresh strawberries! πŸ™‚

  6. Gian Carlo says:

    Wow! Good luck to your strawberries, Tien. πŸ™‚ I really wanted to see one, or taste it’s fruit. they didn’t grow here in the Philippines except in cool places like BAGUiO. My place was extremely hot.
    Enjoy your gardening! πŸ™‚

  7. Khanum says:

    wow, Tien ! I better tell my auntie about your vegetable garden ! she shares the same interest !

  8. Claire says:

    Garrrhhhh Tien I hate your garden!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜›

  9. Claire says:

    I will when I’m able to show off the strawberries in my garden πŸ˜›

  10. Margie says:

    Here in Canada we are still under several feet of snow, and it was a brisk -16C this morning. It will be a while before I started talking about spring!

  11. shinloo says:

    Walao eh you have cauliflower!!!

  12. […] least, my absolute winner for the 3rd year running……..my strawberry plants and its many babies which survived the winter cold! I reorganised the baby plants into bigger pots and incorporated as many as I could into the main […]

Leave a Reply

