Just The Way You Are

 

I can safely say that each and every person in the world is different from the others. There are no two individuals who are the same. Identical twins may share the same face but inside, they are unique in their own ways. We are all unique in our own ways. The only thing that truly make us “special” and “stand out” really, is just the way we are.

The most romantic thing a man could ever say to me is not “You are perfect” or “You are special”. He has to elaborate further as to why he thinks so. Afterall, one man’s meat is another man’s poison! The honest answer I am looking for must demonstrate that he recognises me as an individual that he knows inside and out, the good and the bad, and yet he feels the sole reason he loves me is just because I am me. Accepted and approved without changes. Plain and simple.

“I love you just the way you are.”

*Billy Joel

If you ask me, nobody says (or sings?) it better than the music genius himself, the one and only Mr. Billy Joel. This song is easily his best work, his masterpiece. Definitely one of my favourite love songs of all time, hitting it spot on with the most beautiful lyrics. (No offense to Bruno Mars…ahem!)

So folks, when you tell your special someone “I love you” ala Saint Valentine, remember to get inspired by Mr. Joel beforehand 😉

Happy Valentine’s Day!

(*Image from: http://hallandoates.tripod.com/Joel_Billy.htm)

Just The Way You Are (Written and performed by Billy Joel)

Don’t go changing to try and please me
You never let me down before
Don’t imagine you’re too familiar
That I don’t see you anymore
*****
I would not leave you at times of trouble
We never could have come this far
I took the good times, I’ll take the bad times
I take you just the way you are
*****
Don’t go trying some new fashion
Don’t change the colour of your hair
You always have my unspoken passion
Although I might not seem to care
*****
I don’t want clever conversations
I never want to work that hard
I just want someone that I can talk to
I want you just the way you are
*****
I need to know that you will always be
The same old someone that I knew
What will it take till you believe in me
The way that I believe in you
*****
I said I love you and that’s forever
And this I promise from the heart
I couldn’t love you any better
I love you just the way you are
*****
I don’t want clever conversations
I never want to work that hard
I just want someone that I can talk to
I want you just the way you are
3 comments on “Just The Way You Are

  1. vixter2010 says:

    That is so true – you just want to be loved for being you and for that person to embrace everything about you, including your faults and not try and change that. “Just the way you are” is a great song choice for Valentine’s Day!

  2. “Just The Way You Are TIEN UNSCRIPTED” was in
    fact a pretty excellent post, . Keep writing and I am going
    to continue viewing! Many thanks -Delia

Leave a Reply

